Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

  1. #1
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    I took a chance and purchased a Kinnikuman Pachinko this weekend that wouldn't power up. The problem appears to be with the 24V step down transformer. I unplugged the transformer from the machine and plugged into the wall to test the output voltage and amperage and it immediately popped the circuit breaker in the house. Where is a good place to purchase a 120v to 24v step down transformer with 5-10Amp output?
    697229835.jpg

  2. The following user says "Thanks" to jmbrando


  3. #2
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Here you go the best Transformer for high tech electronics.


    https://www.ebay.com/itm/ALTRONIX-CC...edirect=mobile
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  4. #3
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Here is a box with Two high tech transformers in it With a 24 vac 25 amp output .

    And still has the Factory Seal

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Altroni...edirect=mobile
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  5. #4
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Thanks for the feedback. Excuse my ignorance on this next question. Based on what I've seen on other posts, should I be looking for a transformer with a 10 amp output? Would too much current fry the electronics?

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Fever Hunter UncleToyBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2022
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    37
    Thanks Received
    213

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Here's the cool thing about amp ratings for power supplies like this, they only draw the current needed to run. Think of the amp rating as the maximum they will handle when power is running through them.
    If you try running a 10 amp device through a 2 amp power supply, you're going to melt your power supply.
    If you have a 10 amp power supply, you could wire it up to support up to five 2 amp devices.

    For the record, power strips have amperage ratings and follow the same sort of principal as power supplies. The ones from the dollar store are typically rated much lower than more expensive ones from hardware stores. I've seen the cheap ones melt from having too much load.

  7. The following 4 users say "Thanks" to UncleToyBox


  8. #6
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    So a power supply like the one I have added a link to would work for one machine, but not multiple machines?
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078RYWZMH...v_ov_lig_dp_it

  9. #7
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    28,430
    Thanks
    13,408
    Thanks Received
    18,741

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Quote Originally Posted by jmbrando View Post
    So a power supply like the one I have added a link to would work for one machine, but not multiple machines?
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078RYWZMH...v_ov_lig_dp_it

    No way. thats a 24vdc switching PSU.
    You need one with 24vac output. rated at 240va or higher although your original is only 5A (120va) which is a bit low for a modern pachi.

    well without seeing the machine spec. I don't know the exact VA rating.
    Ian #UKPachinko

  10. The following 3 users say "Thanks" to Drunkenclam


  11. #8
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    takethecastle57,

    So I'm looking at the two products you referenced, and I am confused at how they would work. The second, the Altronix ALTV2416600UL3, based on the spec sheet will only allow for a max 3.5 amps per individual output (8 in total). Is there a way to tie multiple outputs together in parallel to get the amperage you need?

  12. #9
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    28,430
    Thanks
    13,408
    Thanks Received
    18,741

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    I guess the idea is just use the transformer part of the box and by-pass the distribution board and fuses.
    Ian #UKPachinko

  13. #10
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Quote Originally Posted by jmbrando View Post
    takethecastle57,

    So I'm looking at the two products you referenced, and I am confused at how they would work. The second, the Altronix ALTV2416600UL3, based on the spec sheet will only allow for a max 3.5 amps per individual output (8 in total). Is there a way to tie multiple outputs together in parallel to get the amperage you need?
    AHH, these were made for closed circuit cameras with so many power taps and fuses

    But the two Large Round Toroidal Transformers are used in High End Audio equipment .
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toro...d_transformers



    And the one of these will give you 24volts AC at 12.5 Amps and will remain room temperature while the other Block transformer will heat up too hot to touch.


    This one has Two of them in the Bran New Metal Case


    https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Altroni...edirect=mobile
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  14. #11
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    So you do a direct tap on one of these with a 15 amp fuse on the hot (positive ) Wire and you got a cool Pachi Power Box .

    I have one other these with a surge protection power strip that I plug my machines in for power .

    I do put a Warning Tags on the power cord of the machines that are direct connected to the pachi power supply so I don't do a whoops and plug it into 120 vac .
    Last edited by takethecastle57; 02-11-2023 at 04:31 AM.
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  15. #12
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    New question now that I have the machine in my possession and opened it up. I went to check the fuse first and sure enough it's blown. Thankfully nothing else in the are shows any sign of damage. The fuse that was in there was a 125V 15A. Is this the correct rating for a 2014 Kyoraku Kinnikuman Pachinko?

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

  16. #13
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Hum , in Japan the primary voltage is 100v AC so I guess the fuse is universal but 15 amps seems kind of high for just one machine .

    Nice, Clear photos of your machine in question i.e. Front, Back and area in question posted on this Thread can help us help you.
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  17. #14
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Here's the board the power supply plugs into, the fuse holder is to the right by the switch.

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

  18. The following user says "Thanks" to jmbrando


  19. #15
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Thank you for the photo . do you have a good replacement for that glass fuse ?

    Do you also have a 120 v AC to 24 vac at least 5 amps output ?
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  20. #16
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    EBay still has the best transformers for modern pachinko machines
    And you get Two Power transformers for under $70


    https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Altroni...edirect=mobile
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  21. #17
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Yes, I got the step down transformer last week. 24VAC @14 Amps

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

  22. The following user says "Thanks" to jmbrando


  23. #18
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    I haven't looked for the fuse yet because I wanted to make sure a 125V 15amp fuse was the correct one for a modern Pachinko. This is my first modern machine. I picked it used and I don't know if that is the original fuse.

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

  24. #19
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    21,118
    Thanks
    25,874
    Thanks Received
    11,885

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    It will help us help you if you can post good clear photos of the machine here on this Thread of the Front and Back of the machine and the circuit board that you shown have a cover with printed information on it ?

    It would possibly have on it the value of the fuse voltage and amper .


    We possibly have members who have your model and manufacture of your machine that can help .
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  25. #20
    Tokie Owens jmbrando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Newnan
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    28

    Default Re: Power supply for Kinnikuman Pachinko

    Pictures attached. The cover doesn't seem to provide any insight.

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

  26. The following 4 users say "Thanks" to jmbrando


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Power Supply pachinko Terminator 2 2008 SAMMY
    By maxicopland in forum Pachinko Technical Support Tickets
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-07-2022, 04:50 AM
  2. Power Supply
    By NorthState in forum Pachislo Technical Support Tickets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2020, 08:37 PM
  3. Power supply
    By Eliyoder in forum Model Talk
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-11-2019, 08:27 PM
  4. Pachislot sammy Power cable mainbord or power supply
    By ludolatino3 in forum Yahoo Japan - Auction Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2019, 12:11 PM
  5. My new Power Supply for the power hungry Pachinkos
    By takethecastle57 in forum Pachinko Modifications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2016, 07:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •