Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Transformer question

  1. #1
    Tokie Owens MI2QWK4U's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    4

    Default Transformer question

    I recently picked up two Sankyo Star Wars machines. Do they both need 24V transformers? What are the tolerances on them?

    20210112_182311.jpg20210112_182522.jpg

  2. #2
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    25,459
    Thanks
    11,973
    Thanks Received
    16,299

    Default Re: Transformer question

    Yes all moderns run on 24vac supply so both will need a transformer.

    Hmmm. Well I know a lot of people over there use the Japanese 100v transformer. But it's up to you. I would rather protect my purchase and buy a 110-115 transformer. As 100v is running at 10% which is roughly the listed tolerance of most components. Both 5A transformers which is the bare minimum for a Lumina frame. It might get a bit hot if being played for a long period of time.
    Ian #UKPachinko

  3. The following user says "Thanks" to Drunkenclam


  4. #3
    Tokie Owens MI2QWK4U's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    4

    Default Re: Transformer question

    Thank you, that's what I thought. So ditch the silver 100V and get one like is on the other machine...

    Is 5 amps correct for them?

  5. #4
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    25,459
    Thanks
    11,973
    Thanks Received
    16,299

    Default Re: Transformer question

    As I don't know what exact model. Not sure. But 5A is 120VA,

    there should be something on the back givibg a VA rating. to compare with.
    Ian #UKPachinko

  6. #5
    Pachi Puro Peteybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,902
    Thanks
    5,061
    Thanks Received
    2,678

    Default Re: Transformer question

    The 2009 Star Wars is rated at 250VA.

    I have several of this transformer which is great if you can catch them on sale.

    https://blackhawksupply.com/products...CABEgJlKvD_BwE

    The 5 amp will work but if you play for a long time you may suffer a lack of power with possible damage to components. Take the VA rating and divide it by 24 to get your desired amps needed.
    Last edited by Peteybob; 01-14-2021 at 12:33 AM.

  7. The following 3 users say "Thanks" to Peteybob


  8. #6
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    14,775
    Thanks
    19,471
    Thanks Received
    9,737

    Default Re: Transformer question

    Get one of these

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Power-Box-1...edirect=mobile

    This 24vac 10 amp transformer will give you more than enough amps (force) for at least Five modern machines.

    You will have to do a direct connect together total10 amps and I would get a line fuse for 10 amps before the female plug for safety of the machines and you and yours.
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  9. #7
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    25,459
    Thanks
    11,973
    Thanks Received
    16,299

    Default Re: Transformer question

    I think I have to disagree, that is a total output of 10A. Not 10A per channel. which as Peteybob says. is 240VA. Thats not enough to drive one ultra modern machine. Let alone 5.
    its why the supply fuse is rated at 1.1A
    Ian #UKPachinko

  10. The following 2 users say "Thanks" to Drunkenclam


  11. #8
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    14,775
    Thanks
    19,471
    Thanks Received
    9,737

    Default Re: Transformer question

    It's a 18 channel so the power is split 18 times but if you directly hook up to the two transformer output wires like you do with the less efficient square transformer you will get the 24 vac at 10 amps .

    The Toroidal is a more efficient and the don't get really hot when the machine is pulling a lot of amps

    http://www.toroidal.com/toroidal-transformers


    I got one for my "Enter the Matrix " machine cause that machine made even the 9 amp rated square transformer really hot cause of the mega electronics it had . That round transformer was only slightly warm during the biggest Fevers.
    Last edited by takethecastle57; 01-15-2021 at 11:27 AM.
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

Similar Threads

  1. Transformer Question
    By Hodaka in forum Pachislo Technical Support Tickets
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-24-2020, 03:14 AM
  2. Transformer Specification Question
    By emmadog in forum Vintage Pachinko
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 09:08 PM
  3. Transformer Question
    By Eddie in forum Vintage Pachinko
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 12:08 PM
  4. Transformer question
    By jerry kosch in forum Pachislo Modifications
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-12-2006, 11:19 AM
  5. Transformer Question
    By jerry kosch in forum Pachislo Modifications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-02-2006, 04:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •