Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

  1. #1
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Hi all and thanks in advance for any help. I recently acquired two machines (a Sankyo pachinko and a Aladdin Master Pachislo). Both look to be in pristine condition but When I plug either of them in, nothing happens. The Pachinko needs power to operate I believe, won't work on gravity alone (I'm guessing it's a early 80's model?). I think both of the machines came over directly from Japan. Could there be an issue with Japanese power voltage versus US? I don't know a thing about electricity. Anyway, I'll post a pic of both machines (attached) and an help would be greatly appreciated! -Jason
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. The following user says "Thanks" to bluefish44


  3. #2
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    12,860
    Thanks
    18,099
    Thanks Received
    9,248

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  4. #3
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    after a little more research this Pachinko is called Umbrella Man and was born in 1991, so I think it is classified as a 'classic modern'. Still can't get any power though

  5. #4
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    24,186
    Thanks
    11,483
    Thanks Received
    15,576

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Its all the basic stuff I'm afraid. With a volt meter, confirm you have 24vac from the transformer on the back. the follow the wires and see where it goes, checking for fuses or damaged wiring on the way.
    Ian #UKPachinko

  6. The following 4 users say "Thanks" to Drunkenclam


  7. #5
    Pachi Puro Ikaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Jax, Fla.
    Posts
    3,247
    Thanks
    3,680
    Thanks Received
    5,030

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Inside that metal box, on the back, there should be a tattletale LED. Check to see if that is lit up when you have power going to the machine.
    Gotta catch 'em all Pa-chink-o

  8. The following 3 users say "Thanks" to Ikaria


  9. #6
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Doesn't see like I am getting any power out of the transformer. Just so I'm clear, this should be a 110V to 24V transformer - right? I was told this machine came from Hong Kong and worked fine there. I understand that Hong Kong has 220V power. If it worked there and we are at 110, wouldn't I need a 110 to 220 step converter? Funny thing is it has an American style plug so not sure how it was used in Hong Kong without a converter. Nevertheless, I think my 1st step is to bring the existing transformer somewhere to see if it works because my hunch is it is bad. Should it hum at all when plugged in? Obviously I'm a Newbie at all of this. I see no green light eminating from the steel box

  10. #7
    Fever Hunter Spear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Gilroy CA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    22
    Thanks Received
    168

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    If the game has a 220v transformer, you'd be better off getting a 110v to 24v transformer than stepping the 110v up to 220v

  11. #8
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    12,860
    Thanks
    18,099
    Thanks Received
    9,248

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Quote Originally Posted by bluefish44 View Post
    Doesn't see like I am getting any power out of the transformer. Just so I'm clear, this should be a 110V to 24V transformer - right? I was told this machine came from Hong Kong and worked fine there. I understand that Hong Kong has 220V power. If it worked there and we are at 110, wouldn't I need a 110 to 220 step converter? Funny thing is it has an American style plug so not sure how it was used in Hong Kong without a converter. Nevertheless, I think my 1st step is to bring the existing transformer somewhere to see if it works because my hunch is it is bad. Should it hum at all when plugged in? Obviously I'm a Newbie at all of this. I see no green light eminating from the steel box
    Japan is 100 vac at the outlet


    Pachi Power Transformers output is 24vac
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  12. #9
    Chicken Fried Steak takethecastle57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Monterey , Ca
    Posts
    12,860
    Thanks
    18,099
    Thanks Received
    9,248

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    modernpachinko .com to the rescue

    https://modernpachinko.com/collections/accessories
    When things don't go right the 1st time , Step back ,Take a break and come back renewed. RGS

  13. #10
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    24,186
    Thanks
    11,483
    Thanks Received
    15,576

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    15.6A is a bit of an overkill for one of that age. A 5A one would be better suited.
    Ian #UKPachinko

  14. #11
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    OK Thank you- Hoping to pick one up at a local shop today - fingers crossed. If not, if anyone else can point me to the correct one Online I would be grateful!

  15. #12
    Pachi Puro Moparformances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Diamond Springs CA
    Posts
    12,595
    Thanks
    24,237
    Thanks Received
    10,956

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Welcome to Pachitalk
    Never Doubt that a small group of thoughtful, .......... /........ If your not going to stand behind our troops
    ...committed people can change the world. ............. /.................Please, Please stand in front of them
    .....Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has............./
    .........................................Margaret Mead

  16. #13
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    First of all - Huge thanks to the community here...so great to get the support on this. Second...Do you guys think the transformer from the local hardware store here will suffice? Here is a picture of the specs from the box.
    specs2.JPG

  17. #14
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    24,186
    Thanks
    11,483
    Thanks Received
    15,576

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Hmmm
    40va is less than 2A
    A 100va to 150va would be better
    Ian #UKPachinko

  18. #15
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Update - So I went with the Transformer that I pictured and I now have power! Issue now is when I twist the handle that shoots the balls, I can hear it shooting, but no balls are getting into a it. I have the front tray filled up so not sure why they aren't getting there?

  19. #16
    Tokie Owens bluefish44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks Received
    5

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    Another Update - It works! just had to do a little jiggle with the mechanisms... sometimes the shooter doesn't fire, it's tempermental but not much of an issue. Now I just need 500 Pachinko balls

  20. The following 3 users say "Thanks" to bluefish44


  21. #17
    Stuey - The RADministrator MrGneiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    28,960
    Thanks
    58,137
    Thanks Received
    37,537

    Default Re: Need help getting a Pachinko machine running

    If you open the front glass there should be a button/latch thingy that will open up the front tray area so you can see if the ball loader thing is working right..I hope I wasn't too technical for you!!

    "Blowing smoke rings at the moon."

  22. The following 3 users say "Thanks" to MrGneiss


Similar Threads

  1. Motor Behind Modern Pachinko Machine Not Running.
    By Zealous Dragoon in forum Pachinko Technical Support Tickets
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-15-2017, 11:42 AM
  2. Power Flash Pachinko up and Running
    By GB_Jax in forum Vintage Pachinko
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 10-18-2009, 01:28 PM
  3. running of the bulls!!
    By birdbrain in forum Dear Arby
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 07:35 AM
  4. Running 24/7 ?
    By RandomTask in forum Modern Pachinko
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-03-2007, 10:31 AM
  5. King Camel up and running!!!
    By greaser in forum These are the days of our lives...
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2006, 05:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •