Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Transformer help for new import

  1. #1
    Blind Shooter Pachiela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Thanks Received
    30

    Default Transformer help for new import

    I'm sure this is a really easy question to answer and it's a very beginner question, but I've tried searching with no luck. I'm importing my first modern machine and want to be prepared when it comes in. As far as I know, it is how it was in the parlor, but I'm not positive. What transformer would you recommend and do I need any other supplies (like wire, clamps, tools, plug, etc...) to wire it up? Is there any video or photo guide I can follow to make sure I dont screw anything up? I'm pretty much a beginner at this type of stuff. Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    23,143
    Thanks
    11,105
    Thanks Received
    15,087

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    First. Can you post a picture of the back of the machine showing the lead. Also look over the back for a number with a VA suffix like 160va or 200va
    Ian #UKPachinko

  3. The following user says "Thanks" to Drunkenclam


  4. #3
    Blind Shooter Pachiela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Thanks Received
    30

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Machine is still in transit. If there isn't a way to guess ahead of time then I'll have to wait and post a photo when it comes in. If it's the same instructions just buy transformer a or b depending on which VA then I'd appreciate help with either since I likely will get the other at some point in the future

  5. #4
    Pachi Puro Peteybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,398
    Thanks
    4,188
    Thanks Received
    2,323

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Do you have the full name of the machine or a picture from the seller's website, a web link?

  6. #5
    Blind Shooter Pachiela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Thanks Received
    30

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Quote Originally Posted by peteybob View Post
    do you have the full name of the machine or a picture from the seller's website, a web link?
    crくるりん魚v

  7. The following user says "Thanks" to Pachiela


  8. #6
    Pachi Puro Peteybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,398
    Thanks
    4,188
    Thanks Received
    2,323

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Quote Originally Posted by Pachiela View Post
    crくるりん魚v
    Thanks, I don't have anything of this brand but it may lead others to help out before it arrives. Looks like a cool machine if it is like this one. I pulled this from a Yahoo! Japan auction page.

    desktop1.jpg

    Taiyo Elec / September 2002 Introduction
    https://www.pachinkovista.com/pfacto...nid=13916&km=1

  9. #7
    Pachi Puro pachiwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,916
    Thanks
    4,135
    Thanks Received
    4,221

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Quote Originally Posted by Peteybob View Post
    Thanks, I don't have anything of this brand but it may lead others to help out before it arrives. Looks like a cool machine if it is like this one. I pulled this from a Yahoo! Japan auction page.

    desktop1.jpg

    Taiyo Elec / September 2002 Introduction
    https://www.pachinkovista.com/pfacto...nid=13916&km=1
    I have one of those! Here is the transformer that is on mine. 2050-12-31 23.59.59-479.jpg 24VAC 5Amps. Not sure if it is too big...but it certainly don't seem underpowered.

  10. The following 2 users say "Thanks" to pachiwall


  11. #8
    Pachi Puro pachiwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,916
    Thanks
    4,135
    Thanks Received
    4,221

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenclam View Post
    First. Can you post a picture of the back of the machine showing the lead. Also look over the back for a number with a VA suffix like 160va or 200va
    I looked everywhere (short of getting a step stool and looking straight down)' I don't see anything with a VA suffix. I would have expected to find it here. 2050-12-31 23.59.59-482.jpg There are fuses under the plastic door, and it does say AC24V on the circuit board where the pair of red wires come in from above. On a circuit board in the middle somewhere it had (+12V) near some connectors. I can't read Kanji, so I tried to take better pics. With limited success. 2050-12-31 23.59.59-484.jpg2050-12-31 23.59.59-485.jpg I don't think any of translates to VA.

  12. #9
    Eye Shooter lotsoballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    408
    Thanks Received
    1,136

    Default Transformer help for new import

    Iím no electrical expert; but I do have the same pachinko (they all take same type 24v transformer) You can either buy a single one; or acquire a big boy transformer like the parlors use thatís powerful enough for multiple machines like the one Iíve also got. That way you simply plug in the power cord on the machine directly to the transformer, super easy and convenient rather than wiring up your own. Main difference is the big transformer is higher amperage rating vs 4 amp for the single machine; you can run just 1 on the big 15 amp transformer, or run several machines. Maybe someone with better electrical knowledge will step in and clarify. The pachinko will come with a normal plug; so youíll have to splice into the power cord and solder it to the new little transformer if going that route. Iíve never actually done it before since Iíve got a big parlor transformer.

    Little one is 12v-0v-12v 117v 60 htz 4amp (I believe you add the 12v and 12v to get 24v output total??)

    The big Kirin brand one is 100v input, 24v output. See pics.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by lotsoballs; 01-03-2019 at 07:19 PM.

  13. #10
    Blind Shooter Vikingwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    70
    Thanks Received
    91

    Default

    Also not an electrical expert, but I donít use the 100v that come with the machines (as Iím also in the US) regardless of amps.

    Utility companies are going to a send your house +/- 5v of 120v. That means the second you plug the transformer in, itís already overpowered to some degree. Itíd be just my luck to burn down the house over Pachinko..

    I buy the 375v to 24v transformers. This has the opposite problem. Higher rated and using under capacity is ok. I believe theyíre rated at 15amps and will handle 2-3 really modern machines. I use molex ends to make it look professional, but not required. Caps and tape are fine too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #11
    Blind Shooter billyp203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SouthWestern CT
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    9
    Thanks Received
    32

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    You need a transformer that converts USA voltage 115 to 24V . pachinkos run on 24V power NOT USA, or Japanese for that matter, wall voltage BUT don't get a oil burner or HVAC transformer you'll see plenty of those online but they are all low AMP's you'll need at least a 5AMP one better would be 7 or 8 AMP as it'll run a little cooler. The company powervolt makes them here in the USA but they usually don't have any in stock, check ebay and you can probably find it there "pachinko transformer" or similar google search.

  15. #12
    Blind Shooter Pachiela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Thanks Received
    30

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Thank you all for your help. I sincerely appreciate it. I have a good idea of what I am looking for for a single machine splice in transformer now. Any tutorials on how to do the attaching?

    The machine hasn't come in yet, so I'm not in a big rush.

    Having said that, I'd much prefer the idea that lotsoballs suggested of having a plugin "big boy" transformer that doesn't require me to do any splicing and can handle multiple machines. I'm not concerned by the size (or presumably price since it can handle multiple machines and save me some work/risk). I searched for about an hour, and found zero 115-120 vac to 24 vac that would work for this. Anyone have a link to one that would work or help in keywords for searching? I'm a bit out of my element here.

    Thanks again for the help everyone

  16. #13
    Eye Shooter lotsoballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    408
    Thanks Received
    1,136

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    1. I doubt they sell a similar ďbig boyĒ parlor transformer domestically (could be wrong), Compirate gave it to me, and he imported it long ago. Iím not sure how to search yahoo japan for that though; Iím sure they come up time to time though! I forgot to mention that thing must weigh 40+ lbs haha so shipping would be killer! I guess I just lucked out! On second thought, you might just want to ask Frank over at Clover Collectables if they have an extra transfomer they might sell you and a Daverob dongle which are absolutely essential in my humble opinion to dispense extra balls. 👍

  17. #14
    Kungishi CarlW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Sugar Grove, Illinois
    Posts
    1,472
    Thanks
    2,189
    Thanks Received
    3,226

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Here is a link to a 4A one, same website has a 10A version.

    https://www.mpja.com/24V-4A-Center-T...info/27845+TR/

  18. The following user says "Thanks" to CarlW


  19. #15
    Pachi Puro pachiwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,916
    Thanks
    4,135
    Thanks Received
    4,221

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Quote Originally Posted by Pachiela View Post
    Thank you all for your help. I sincerely appreciate it. I have a good idea of what I am looking for for a single machine splice in transformer now. Any tutorials on how to do the attaching?

    Having said that, I'd much prefer the idea that lotsoballs suggested of having a plugin "big boy" transformer that doesn't require me to do any splicing and can handle multiple machines.
    Some sort of splicing will likely be necessary. I expect different brands to have different types of plug in. That being said...even though I own this model, I don't know what the plug is like. When I got it, the male portion of the plug wasn't there and the previous owner did some wierd crimp the wires and goop it up with silicone. The female part of the socket was damaged. I rmoved the circuit board, unsoldered the pins, then broke off the damaged plastic part of the socket. Then I soldered wires directly to the circuit board. They are the 2 red wires above the round part. 2050-12-31 23.59.59-482.jpg I expect yours will have a socket with a matching plug that has a pigtail on it. Simply attach the 2 output wires to the pigtail...AC current, so it don't matter which way you attch them. Then splice a lamp cord to the input of the transformer. You can twist and tape...or better yet, solder and shrink tube.

  20. #16
    Pachi Puro pachiwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,916
    Thanks
    4,135
    Thanks Received
    4,221

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Quote Originally Posted by CarlW View Post
    Here is a link to a 4A one, same website has a 10A version.

    https://www.mpja.com/24V-4A-Center-T...info/27845+TR/
    On this transformer, attach each blue wire to the pigtail of your new machine, and tape off the yellow wire.
    My transformer is 5 amps, and works great, 4 amps is probably fine...but I can't find any specs on my machine to confirm. 10 amps is way more than needed, but won't hurt anything.
    Last edited by pachiwall; 01-09-2019 at 06:18 PM.

  21. The following user says "Thanks" to pachiwall


  22. #17
    Blind Shooter Pachiela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Thanks Received
    30

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Sorry for my delays on replying. Ever since the server update I've been having a lot of trouble getting the site to load. It happens to be loading on my phone currently.

    To use the big boy Japanese transformers, do you just use a 120 to 100 volt transformer then you plug the 100v side of the big boy transformer into it?

    Would one of these work connected to a 120 to 100V transformer on one end and the machine on the other? https://page.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/u245748479 Plug 120v

    As for the splicing kind, I'm thinking it will make more sense once I get the machine in and can see it myself. Should be here in a week or two.

    Thanks again for the help.

  23. #18
    Blind Shooter Pachiela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Thanks Received
    30

    Default Re: Transformer help for new import

    Well as a quick update, after all that the seller cancelled my frame order (yet did send me the key for the frame...). So, it ended up not mattering in this case, and I bought a machine from an awesome seller on here that I can exchange my Penguin cell into that already has the right transformer on it.

    With that said, I'm still curious about the questions in my previous message for the next time it comes into play. Thanks again for the help everyone.

Similar Threads

  1. How can I import this Pachislo?
    By PachiPachi in forum Model Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-23-2013, 04:58 PM
  2. My first direct Pachinko import!
    By MrGoodBurn in forum Modern Pachinko
    Replies: 85
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 10:02 PM
  3. Want To Import Pachislos From Japan
    By Darren in forum Vendors & Manufacturers Pachislo
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2005, 06:30 PM
  4. Import your own Pachinko's
    By johntofva in forum Vendors & Manufacturers Pachinko
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-15-2005, 09:39 PM
  5. wanna import from Japan?
    By gaku in forum Vendors & Manufacturers Pachislo
    Replies: 71
    Last Post: 03-19-2005, 05:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •