Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RetroPie setup

  1. #1
    Sandwich Shooter stampeed valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    92
    Thanks Received
    412
    Groans Given
    0
    Groaned 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default RetroPie setup

    I have been tinkering with a Raspberry Pi 3B and Retropie 4.2.
    I ended up buying a Kit on Amazon for $65 that included everything I needed to start minus a controller. I have been playing with NES/Famicom and Super NES/S.Famicom roms... and the current onboard Mame emulator which takes 0.78 Rom sets (currently).

    I ended up pairing a PS4 controller to it via bluetooth.. works great.. and since I setup Download Manager I can web into my Pi3 and drop Roms from my PC..


    Very very simple to do.. probably took about 45min from start to completion with most of that time waiting for the Pi3b to update.


    My only complaint is that 0.78 is pretty old for Mame.. there are several ROMS that are buggy with this release buy work in the newer (1.0 and later) mame sets..


    I have used Raspberry Pi devices for other projects.. but this may be the neatest thing with these guys yet.

  2. The following 4 users say "Thanks" to stampeed valkyrie


  3. #2
    I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    22,633
    Thanks
    10,851
    Thanks Received
    14,797
    Groans Given
    366
    Groaned 159 Times in 114 Posts

    Default Re: RetroPie setup

    Ian #UKPachinko

  4. The following user says "Thanks" to Drunkenclam


  5. #3
    Blind Shooter SixGunSamurai91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    52
    Thanks Received
    28
    Groans Given
    0
    Groaned 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: RetroPie setup

    I wound taking an image I found online and totally re-working it in to something decent. Just a bit frustrating that the N64 is so lacking in games that will run. It has literally everything else you'd want on there. I went through and fixed all the compatibility issues, added all the box art, descriptions, even added music and things like that.

  6. #4
    Pachi Puro Ikaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Jax, Fla.
    Posts
    3,049
    Thanks
    3,584
    Thanks Received
    4,717
    Groans Given
    84
    Groaned 23 Times in 10 Posts

    Default Re: RetroPie setup

    I'm glad you brought this up. Just reminded me I need to rework my Pi setup for the Amiberry (Amiga) emulator. Don't mess with MAME too much on the pi since I have a stand alone cabinet that runs MAME. I need to spend some time getting my GPD-XD redone. So little time, so much to do.
    Gotta catch 'em all Pa-chink-o

  7. #5
    Blind Shooter SixGunSamurai91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    52
    Thanks Received
    28
    Groans Given
    0
    Groaned 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: RetroPie setup

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikaria View Post
    I'm glad you brought this up. Just reminded me I need to rework my Pi setup for the Amiberry (Amiga) emulator. Don't mess with MAME too much on the pi since I have a stand alone cabinet that runs MAME. I need to spend some time getting my GPD-XD redone. So little time, so much to do.
    I easily spent a solid month getting mine set up, I was going to transfer everything to the newer Raspberry pi model that just came out a little while ago, but guess what? Nothing is compatible with it, it runs a totally different script or something like that, and no improvements were really made to the GPU or anything. Also, I finished mine, and let it sit for a while, then I updated all the packages, and guess what, nothing worked lol. Had to format and re-image. Thank God, I saved that image as soon as I finished it.

  8. #6
    Sandwich Shooter stampeed valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    92
    Thanks Received
    412
    Groans Given
    0
    Groaned 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: RetroPie setup

    I need to update mine as well.
    The lastest version of Retropie is running on a different linux distro.

    I have several 3b's and use them to tinker regularly.. this one however will probably always be a retro gaming emu project.

Similar Threads

  1. Olympia Evolutional Setup Help
    By Kia in forum Pachislo Technical Support Tickets
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2017, 01:48 AM
  2. Battle Counter setup
    By Shirogane in forum Modern Pachinko
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-31-2016, 04:30 PM
  3. Nice Setup
    By Shakkaboo in forum eBay - General Auction listings
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 06:55 PM
  4. I setup my wife!
    By slothappy144 in forum These are the days of our lives...
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-07-2006, 11:03 PM
  5. Popeye setup / menu
    By SteveFoxUK in forum Pachislo Modifications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2006, 03:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •