Thread: Converting a toy gumball machine to a pachinko ball dispenser

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default Converting a toy gumball machine to a pachinko ball dispenser

We've all seen these low cost gumball-candy machine dispensers. Some of us have them but are just stored somewhere unused. I had tried to use one of these as a pachinko ball dispenser a few years ago. The project was unsuccessful at the time because the balls jammed the mechanism. I had been using a different solution for many years, but I revisited my old project today with great success.

Here is a photo of my finished project. It should be able to work flawlessly even with the globe filled to the very top:
    DSCF2019.jpg

PLEASE NOTE:
    THIS WILL BE A HUGE TEMPTATION FOR TODDLERS AND SMALL CHILDREN. ---PLEASE--- KEEP THAT IN MIND IF YOU CHOOSE TO DO THIS!!!

The previous failure was caused by the weight of the steel balls making the plastic parts flex. This area particularly would press down on the rotor, preventing it from turning:
    DSCF2004.jpgI applied a bit of white lithium grease in select areas of friction but it didn't help enough.

My trick was to get the weight of the balls onto the center post and along the outer rim of the mechanism. This puts the weight onto the frame casting not the rotor:
    DSCF2004-2.jpg

First business was the center post. I couldn't find any metal sleeve in my junk stuff so I simply cut off the end of a marking pen. I cut it off so it is just higher than the gray "shelf". I applied a tiny -sparing- amount of white lithium grease to the bottom of the sleeve:
    DSCF2003.jpgThe metal disk I cut will rest on this plastic post, helping to take the strain off of the gray plastic shelf.