Thread: How I Did It: Removed cabinet lock from vintage Sankyo

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default How I Did It: Removed cabinet lock from vintage Sankyo

Okay... before we begin... this is my first attempt at restoring a machine, and my first attempt at writing any kind of How I Did It post. So all the usual disclaimers apply: your machine may be different than mine, you may have better or worse skills than I do, you may have a better idea than mine... it's all good.

I wanted the useless (neutered, keyless) lock off the front of my Sankyo cabinet. Everybody who saw it said "Do you have the key?" No, I didn't have the key, and even if I did, it didn't turn anything. So I wanted to remove it.

The way I went about it wasn't pretty or sophisticated or gentle. But I did it. The lock is removed and the spring latches still work. Here's how I did it.

TOOLS
    Rotary tool (Dremel™ or equivalent)
    Reinforced cutting wheel (typically black)
    Cone-shaped grinding tip (red grit)
    Philips #0 screwdriver
    Big-ass flat-blade screwdriver
    Pliers/open-end wrench
    Wood blocks, all the same thickness - scrap 2x4 chunks in my case
    A hammer(!)

Step 1: Remove the entire front panel

Using your big-ass flat blade screwdriver, remove the top hinge plate. It's a hefty piece of bent steel that wraps around the top corner and forms the top-left hinge of your cabinet (as seen from the front). The screws are long and held in with nuts. Use a pair of slip-joint pliers or appropriate wrench to hold the nut while you remove the screws.

Carefully disengage the cabinet lock latch. You will now be able to lift the entire "machine" out of its wooden frame. This is just like removing an ordinary door from a door jamb. The bottom hinge pin stays attached to the frame, the top pin comes away with the big plate we just removed.