Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Mistake

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default Newbie Mistake

I am new to modern pachinko machines and just made a bonehead mistake. I bought a Sanyo New Sea Story Special machine.

I was told the unit just needed to be plugged in. I'm reading the warning label of 24v and still plugged it in to 110v. Obviously, I blew the fuse, but burned up at least one capacitor. I don't see any other visible damage. Did I just destroy the machine? I'd be curious if anyone else has made this mistake and able to correct? I'm not equipped to do the repair myself and hoping a TV repair can correct, but also looking for a wire diagram. There are two loose wires on the machine that I assume to be grounds. Adding a transformer will be easy enough, but concerned about wiring correct/safely. Are there sources for replacement parts or aware of any service centers in SE Michigan? Any advice is greatly appreciated!

I was thrown out of Top Gear Drunkenclam's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default Re: Newbie Mistake

If the loose wires are green and yellow then it's the grounds. If your lucky replacing the fuse and blown component should fix it. I'm afraid the only way to see is to try. If the part is still readable. You should find a replacement. As for sourcing a complete board. I don't know as far side of the pond. But others might know. Also try posting a pic of the blown part.
    Others have made the same mistake and fixed them ok.
    Ian #UKPachinko

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Thanks for the response. Hopefully no other areas were impacted, but is a capacitor any kind of fail safe?IMG_20130317_123849.jpgIMG_20130317_124707.jpg

4. The following user says "Thanks" to Chaffy15

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Well you did put 4x the correct voltage through it. If only that bits blown and your house didn't burn down. I guess thats a good failsafe.
    Ian #UKPachinko

Thanks
    Thanks Received