Thread: NJ Mike Introduction

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default NJ Mike Introduction

Hello All,

I've been meaning to get to this introductory post for a while now. I have been around and soft of half participating since Sept, I thought I couldn't officially call myself a member unless I contributed to the mix here. Since I pulled a lot of insight from others posts, I feel like I should chip in. This post is how I got started and the machines I've bought (so far). I'll try to contribute regularly as I go through my restorations.

I'm an electrical engineer, specializing in manufacturing control systems, I spent about 5 years as an engineer using CAD, wiring, building control panels, programming and then starting up and troubleshooting systems for utilities, food manufacturers, chemicals and pharmaceutical companies (big industry in NJ). For the past 15 years or so I've been selling those systems while working for corporations like Honeywell and letting other people do the engineering.

My Pachinko story:

When I was a kid, I had a neighbor who had a Pachinko machine in his basement. At the time, we didn't call it a "vintage" but it turns out that is what it is today. His dad traveled back and forth to Japan quite a bit, I remember thinking that he brought it back with him, but also to my recollection, the machine had a Pachinko Palace (which I see on one of the machines I bought was in Paramus NJ) sticker on it, so chances are he saw them in Japan and bought one in NJ.

At any rate, about 5 years ago I finished my basement and was looking for simple arcade machines and I remembered the Pachinko machine. However, when I googled Pachinko, only (what I now know are) moderns came up in the results and I looked at them and thought, "That's not the pachinko I remember" so I didn't buy one.