Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: "Pachipro" - Making A Living Playing Pachinko

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default "Pachipro" - Making A Living Playing Pachinko

I didn't know where else to put this so I hope this is the right place. BTW this is a great site and why didn't I discover it before?

Pachinko is a "legalized" form of gambling in Japan where gambling is illegal and today, if one is lucky and knows when to quit, it is still possible to make a living out of playing it. This is the story of how I survived for about ten months playing only pachinko.

I started playing Pachinko while in the military back in 1973 when, out of curiosity, I entered a small place near the base. It soon became one of my favorite past times when I had nothing better to do. Since I was so green to Japan at the time with barely any knowledge of the language, I never won more than a couple of thousand yen on the rare days that I did win. Back then yen was 300/US$1 so my winnings never totaled more than $10-$13, but it was still good money when your monthly salary was about $360 a month and a beer cost 300 yen at a bar.

Also, all the machines were manual at the time in that you had to shoot the balls by operating a lever with your thumb and hope the balls would fall into one of the five or so "tulips" placed strategically on the board where you would win 15 balls for opening the tulip and 15 more for closing it (which was much easier than opening it.) 30 balls cost 100 yen. I found it intriguing and it was a good way to pass a rainy Saturday afternoon or kill some time before hitting the nightspots as a few hours playing this game seemed like a few minutes. Also, it was interesting to see how lucky one could get. Most of my friends found it boring, but I enjoyed it.