Thread: Gasp! I pulled 5 nails on my new Thunderbirds!

Thanks
    Thanks Received

Default Gasp! I pulled 5 nails on my new Thunderbirds!

I am new to Pachinko. I am a Pinball player from way back (my PT Cruiser's plates even say PINBALL) and I always wondered whether Pachinko would hold any charm for me, so I told the wife I wanted a Thunderbirds for Fathers Day. Compared to the cost of a Pin, I figured it was worth just buying one to see.

So, the first thing I realized is that the seller on eBay we wound up with doesn't include a back, a tray, or even legs. Did come with 1000 balls at least.

Couldn't complain too much, given the price. (Just shipping a Pin would cost more than the Pachinko did, shipped!) I found a plastic casserole dish that works well enough for now... But I needed to move the transformer out of the way from the silly place they mounted it...

And it seems stable enough just sitting in its frame for the time being. I also gather that the backs are usually additional.

So, on to the playing... MAN, IS THAT THING LOUD! I can't even play it when my wife is home. I have found the info here about cotton balls and add-on controls, thanks all for the tips! I have some work to do!

I was a bit chagrined to find out about all the horsing around with the balls that you have to do behind the machine. The sellers certainly don't make a point of letting you know that balls are going to be falling out the back, and you will have to keep moving them up to the top. Of course, once you're familiar with it, it's easy to see that it could hardly be otherwise, but still. I can picture the guys running around behind the walls in the Japanese parlors, refilling as needed!